Coconut Milk Yogurt?

Another ferment I’ve been dying to try is home-made yogurt. I’ve acquired a yogurt maker, equipment and a couple of cultures to make greek yogurt at home. I was going to use goat milk to make my first batch, but Lauren wants to continue avoiding all dairy for another six weeks or so.

I was a little bummed, because I’ve really been looking forward to trying the yogurt, but this morning, I had a flash of inspiration. I googled “coconut milk yogurt” and discovered that you can indeed make yogurt from coconut milk. It takes a little longer, and requires the addition of a thickener (I’ll be using tapioca flour), but it utilizes the same cultures as dairy yogurt.

So, I’ll be starting a batch of coconut milk yogurt in the next few days. I’m really looking forward to seeing how it tastes.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

