Yoga Journal 21-Day Challenge (Day 1)

Part of my journey toward healing has included yoga, although, I haven’t been able to implement a regular (daily) practice. So far, I’ve been able to get to SBCC, once or twice a week, for a 30 minute yoga session. I’ve also got a yoga DVD with about 3 or 4 different workouts on it, but I’m already getting bored of doing the same workout even every other day.

One thing I’ve been doing to try to get and stay motivated is read Yoga Journal. I’ve got it on my iPad, which is an awesome way to read any magazine, in my opinion. Yesterday, I came across this little snippet in the “Connect With Us” section of the magazine:

“Do you ever find yourself thinking, after a really great yoga session, “I know I would feel amazing if I did this every day?” If so, you should try Yoga Journal’s 21-Day Challenge! This free program of expert asana instruction and inspiration is designed to help you create (and maintain) a daily home yoga practice. Check it out! www.yogajournal.com/21daychallenge

Boy, did that sound like exactly what I’d been searching for! I immediately signed up for the Beginner version, and I received my first email this morning. I got out the yoga mat and started the first day’s sequence around 11:00 AM, this morning. It felt great. It wasn’t too difficult. It wasn’t very challenging, either, but that’s just fine for me. For right now.

I need to find ways to move my body that won’t cause me more pain, particularly in my low back. I know that yoga is ultimately going to be one of the best things I can do for myself. Here was today’s workout.

I’m committed to doing each day’s workout, every day, for the next 21 days. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

