My First Glass of Kefir (from Goat Milk)

20130323-071533.jpg

I decided to be brave today and actually try drinking some of my kefir.

Because Lauren and I had plans last night, I forgot to change the milk in my new grains yesterday afternoon. This means the current batch has been “fermenting” for about 40 hours.

The taste is decidedly sour, but not overly so. The grains seem to be more plump, today, and the milk culture is definitely thicker. The jar was sealed, rather than using a cloth over the top. I’ve read information advocating either arrangement, as long as any closed container is checked regularly to prevent bursting.

I am very interested in observing the kefir’s effects on my body, so I’m drinking it on an empty stomach. I’ll let you know if I experience any adverse reactions.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

