Surviving St. Patrick’s Day

Since I began my healing journey about 3 weeks ago, I have been able to avoid old behaviors for coping, such as drinking alcohol, overeating, splurging on sweets or other processed “junk foods,” just to name a few.

So, this weekend provided a significant test, and not just because it’s St. Patrick’s Day. Lauren and I came down to San Diego to visit her parents. These visits always manage to push all my buttons, but so far, I’ve genuinely been enjoying myself and haven’t been tempted to go off my plan.

Virgin Bloody Marys and plenty of Kombucha have been significant factors in helping me, I’m convinced. That, and a healthy determination to begin living my life more fully and more presently.

Sláinte!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

