My First Batch (A1) of Kombucha

First batch

Kombucha Brooklyn Starter Kit

Yesterday, I started my first batch of Kombucha, using Kombucha Brooklyn’s starter kit.

I used Arrowhead Spring Water, boiling 1 quart of it in my electric tea kettle and using it to brew the tea directly in the 1 gallon brew jar, for the full 20 minutes.

As soon as the 20 minutes were up, I removed the tea bag and added the sugar, stirring until it was dissolved completely. I then added more spring water until the tea reached the “fill level.”

Once the temperature had fallen to 84 degrees, I added the SCOBY and kombucha starter, then covered it all with the provided cloth and sealed it with the rubber band. (I had previously removed the SCOBY from the refrigerator and let it sit on the counter while I prepared the sweet tea.)

The high temperature yesterday was about 72.5. Today’s high temperature is forecast to be 74.

The temperature on the brewer currently reads:  68-70.

I’m concerned that the temperature is too cold, and that the environment is too bright, so today I wrapped a towel around the jar and will now check it every day or so.

2 thoughts on “My First Batch (A1) of Kombucha

  1. I keep mine on top of the fridge so it stays a little warmer. I don’t bother covering it with a towel or anything (no direct sunlight in my kitchen) and it’s been fine. Good luck on your kombucha!

    • Thanks!

      I think I’ll move mine to the top of the fridge, as well, since I also want to have a few batches going at a time. I’m running out of counter space, anyway!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

